La Bohème — Reflection #1

I went to see La Bohème at the cinema yesterday, and I was so very glad that I went.  I had several thoughts about it, but perhaps the one that will live with me the longest is the exhibition of sheer stamina shown by Kristine Opolais, who sang the part of Mimi.

This is one of the most unbelievable stories I have ever witnessed in opera. The previous night she’d delighted an audience in a performance of Madame Butterfly. She got to bed at five this morning. At half past seven her phone rang. The call was from Peter Gelb, the general manager of The Met, who was requesting her to sing La Bohème at one o’clock because the lead singer, Anita Hartig, had flu. After a morning of dress fittings and rehearsals she was an outstanding Mimi! Dead on the Met stage twice in different roles in 18 hours!  I have always been in wonder at the discipline and skill of opera singers,  but this showed a level of stamina that is completely amazing.

Click here to see how The New York Times reported the story.

 

Leave a comment